What España Taught Me

I recently had the amazing opportunity to travel to Spain for two weeks. I was able to reconnect with my brother after 15 months & had quality time with my cousin that was so special. The time spent in Europe was never wasted, seeing new things everyday and learning more and more about the culture, the people, my family, and even myself. The views of the Basque Country (Northern Spain) are unforgettable; the greenest mountains I’ve ever seen with the most amazing beaches below- San Sebastián, Plentzia & Mundaka to name a few. Bilbao showed me the night life of Spain with endless streets of bars and fiestas every weekend. Spain knows how to do it just right, I mean who can beat 2£ wine and a drinking age of 18?!

While I was hesitant to try new foods in Spain, I slowly became comfortable with the amazing cuisine; pintxos of the Basque Country and the tapas in Madrid, the fresh baked bread, and all the local fruits. The trip really challenged me by forcing me out of my comfort zone of daily vigorous exercise and a pretty strict diet. Having taken the opportunity take a step back from that lifestyle, I’ve realized that I could truly miss out on some amazing things while I’m worrying about what I’m going to eat for my next meal or when my next workout is. Taking my mind off of what can often completely control my thoughts, has allowed me to really broaden my perspective on life in general. As Ferris Bueller would say, “Life moves pretty fast, if you don’t stop and look around once in awhile, you could miss it” and when you’re taking all your time to focus on extra calories or gaining weight life is moving on while you sit back and watch it go by. Instead of taking the backseat, I chose to truly engage with my new surroundings taking in at all.

While I can’t say I’m completely changed by my travels, I can say I’ve made some breakthroughs which is more than I could have asked for out of such an amazing experience to begin with. Though traveling may not always be sunshine and good times, with lost luggage, stolen items, limited access to certain resources, etc. but I can assure you the knowledge gained is worth all of those things and more.

~Caleigh

Leave a Reply

